Community Leader Bags Queensland Local Hero Award

Community leader and Mu’ooz Restaurant and Catering – West End founder, Saba Abraham, has been awarded Queensland Australia’s Local Hero.

The 2022 Queensland Australian of the Year Awards saw Ms Saba or “Mama Saba” being recognised for her community leadership and social entrepreneurship. The Brisbane Community Leaders Gathering, which she chairs, helped mitigate and limit the spread of COVID-19 in Queensland. Their initiative allowed culturally and linguistically diverse communities to receive public health messages in their own language.

Ms Saba likewise runs Mu’ooz, a not-for-profit restaurant and catering business. Since  establishing her social business in 2003, she has provided female refugees with employment and vocational training opportunities. 

“That’s has provided more than 200 refugee women in Queensland with vocational training and job opportunities,” Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said.

The 2022 Queensland Australian of the Year Awards ceremony was held 11 November 2021, ahead of the national Australia Day awards ceremony which is scheduled to take place in January.

Apart from Queensland Local Hero, other awards given out include the 2022 Queensland Australian of the Year which went to Sue and Lloyd Clarke —.parents of Hannah Clarke who, along with her three children, tragically died due to domestic violence. The Clarkes established Small Steps 4 Hannah in honour of their daughter. Their foundation aims to put a stop to the cycle of domestic violence.

Saba Abraham
Photo credit:  Australian of the Year Awards / Facebook

One the other hand, Australia’s first Indigenous police officer, Dr Colin Dillon AM APM, was awarded the 2022 Queensland Senior Australian of the Year whilst Hand-n-Hand Peer Support founder Dr Tahnee Bridson is the Queensland Young Australian of the Year awardee.

Premier Palaszczuk said that all four award recipients were recognised for their outstanding endeavours to improve our communities, our state, our nation and the world. She added that the awards once again encourage everyone that “a brighter future is always achievable with hard work, devotion and compassion.”

“All nominees in each of the four categories deserve our gratitude and admiration,” she said.

Saba Abraham, Sue and Lloyd Clarke, Dr Colin Dillon AM APM and Dr Tahnee Bridson will represent the State at the national awards next year.